Friday, March 13, 2009

I've already won a copy of this book and let me tell you, it's a way over the top good read. Spread the word. Tell Jeannine where you posted this promo and you could win a copy.

Jeannine has a way of putting the gritty reality of life in words YA readers appreciate. She doesn't look down on her readers but sets them right in the middle of the hot skillet that is her character's lives.
C. J. Parker

I can't believe how fast this came! SAY THE WORD will be released on Tuesday, March 17 (St. Patrick's Day) and THREE SIGNED COPIES will be given away in this contest. All you have to do to enter is:1. Announce THIS CONTEST on your blog/facebook/myspace/etc. You can link to this entry or copy and paste. 2. Then send me back the link to YOUR announcement either by email (jjgarsee at aol dot com) or in the comment section here.That's it! This contest will start today and continue until March 28th. Also, if you mention Say the Word in any other posts between now and March 28th, send me the link to those as well and you will be entered again--each time!
Thank you for spreading the word about SAY THE WORD!AMAZON Book Description: "The world expects perfection from seventeen-year-old Shawna Gallagher, and for the most part, that’s what they get. She dates the right boys, gets good grades, and follows her father’s every rule. But when her estranged lesbian mother dies, it’s more than perfect Shawna can take. Suddenly, anger from being abandoned ten years ago is resurfacing along with Shawna’s embarrassment over her mother’s other family. As she confronts family secrets and questions from the past, Shawna realizes there’s a difference between doing the perfect thing and doing the right thing. "Shawna’s honest and relatable voice will draw readers in and hold them until the last page in this coming-of-age story. Jeannine Garsee has delivered a compulsively readable second novel, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Laurie Halse Anderson."
Reviews"Say the Word explores discrimination and resentment from unique points-of-view, giving its characters a chance for redemption. Some take advantage of the chance; others see no reason to change. Either way, the story is riveting." ALAN Online"Garsee manages to give every character depth and dimension without falling into the trap of making the children too perfect and angelic and the adults imperfect... Readers will believe Shawna’s final transition from doormat to independent thinker." Kirkus"A compelling portrait of a young woman growing up..." Publishers WeeklyA Booklist starred review (April 2009)!

No comments: